SPEAKER | Society

Kristina Verner

Director, Intelligent Communities, Waterfront Toronto

the mesh schedule


Learn more »

Date: May 27
Time: 11:15 AM – 12:05 PM
Location: 99 Sudbury | Glass Factory, mesh Main Stage

See complete schedule »

Kristina is the of Director, Intelligent Communities for Waterfront Toronto, where she is responsible for a variety of strategic initiatives with a goal toward creating one of the world’s preeminent intelligent communities.

Verner serves as VP, Ontario for i-CANADA and is also a founding member of the Board of Advisors for Walsh University’s ICF Institute for the Study of the Intelligent Community in North Canton, OH.

Previously, she served as the Research & Development Officer at the University of Windsor Centre for Smart Community Innovation where she led various aspects of the Connecting Windsor-Essex Smart Community, securing significant funding to support the increase of ICTs within the region and facilitating cross-sector collaboration and innovation.

She successfully spearheaded Windsor-Essex’s efforts in 2010 and 2011 to have the community recognized by the Intelligent Community Forum as one of the 21 Smartest Communities in the word. In 2011, the ICF named Windsor-Essex as one of their Top 7 communities. In 2013, under her stewardship, Waterfront Toronto led the bid to have the City of Toronto recognized in the Smart21.

She holds degrees from the University of Windsor – a Bachelor of Arts (History), a Bachelor of Education and an MBA. In 2012, Verner was honoured to receive the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her leadership and commitment to the creation of intelligent communities and collaborative ecosystems that support the transparent, connected, vibrant communities and economies that will foster national prosperity.

Verner serves as a sessional instructor of Computer Science at the University of Windsor, teaching Computer Concepts for End Users, Cyber Ethics and Social Media and Mobile Technologies. In 2011 she received the Organization of Part Time University Students Teacher of the Year Award for her outstanding dedication to part-time students, helping them achieve academic excellence.